Passion. Focus. Self.

Monday afternoon I went to the Young Executive Networking Lunch that we host monthly at the Club. I had never gone to one before, but our General Manager was speaking at this one, so I really wanted to attend. He showed us this video of Tim Minchin’s acceptance speech at UWA in 2013.

Wow. I wasn’t expected to be hit so deeply by this crazy-looking fool. Watch the video. The lesson that hit me the deepest was #1 – You Don’t Have To Have A Dream. Focusing on the smaller things and the now is something that I’ve been working really hard on. Like Minchin says,

“If you focus too far in front of you, you won’t see the shiny thing out the corner of your eye.”

It was truly a great discussion and continued with our Members after. I covered it with live tweets for my job, which can be found, here!


Monday evening, the Local Levo – Pittsburgh chapter held its first meeting of the year. We met with a life coach for a goal-setting seminar. As you may know, I have been doing a lot of work on my own to let go of the “bad” and go after the “good.” But, I was still intrigued as to how professionals did it and I’m always eager to learn (especially if I could achieve my goals in a different, more efficient way).

“You can have it all, you just don’t know what it looks like.”

This phrase stuck with me. I thought I knew what I wanted. My needs are very singular. The first project was to work with a partner and they would write down the things we wanted – the only thing our partner could say is: “What do you want?” We were supposed to just start talking and ramble (the partner would pick up the wants from the ramblings).

Here’s what I want:

  • my dream job; to change jobs; a shift in my luck when it comes to my job interviewing
  • clarity about my job situation
  • my boyfriend to stay nearby when he graduates and finds a job
  • my boyfriend to be successful
  • timing with my school/future and my boyfriend’s future
  • a cleaner apartment
  • to be present – separate self from social media more; better experiences with people
  • survive semester; keep GPA up
  • not overwhelm self with too much stuff
  • decide when to graduate; graduate
  • quit job & move on
  • see friends more

I connected with my partner. She tried to guide me out of my work/school wants, but those are the things that are important to me. I don’t want anything else right now haha I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not. But, at least I have a focus?

In the post-discussion for this activity, I noted to the group that I felt odd about not wanting more. My list was very small compared to everyone else’s. I admitted to having done some goal-achieving recently, but that I felt like I should have more “wants.” The speaker told our group that it’s okay to be happy where we are…to want what we already have.

“We often get stuck on the how. The how will come from intentions and desires and little steps.”

Next, we moved into a group with a different partner. This was getting to the root of our wants – the WHY. We chose our top three wants and went on from there, to find the key words that popped up in our language. I really connected with my second partner. Her and I got off topic a bit, but the discussions were just too good.

Here are my top three wants:

  • my dream job; to change jobs; a shift in my luck when it comes to my job interviewing
  • to be present – separate self from social media more; experience more with people
  • not overwhelm self with too much stuff

We touched on me overwhelming myself (I talked about me quitting the newspaper) and trying to relax. I expressed my concerns about not getting the job and worry over the things that are out of my control. I told her what a great help Tim has been in keeping me relaxed and focused. She noted the passion and expression I exuded when I talked about the job I interviewed for and my future.

And my words:

  • Organized
  • No guilt
  • Writing for yourself
  • Self-soul
  • Passion
  • Focus

As you can see…there was a lot going on for me during these activities. I definitely need to focus more on the things I have control over and the things I don’t.

At the end of the seminar, we came together to go over the take-aways. We decided that to achieve our goals, we need to focus, involve others, look deeper to the root of our wants, and take the time to realize that we do want (and what that want is). We took our words and molded them into intents. It was truly an eye-opening experience to look at yourself more deeply in this manner.

So, my intention for this year is to focus on my passions and pursue them. From this, will come my best, truest, happiest self.

And, ironically enough…the name for this blog for a while now has been “Desire. Create. Pursue.” Full circle.

Leave a Reply

